12runsin12months

Just another WordPress.com site

18 miles and self reflecting May 14, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — runningnurse12 @ 2:40 am

I have a friend from nursing school who recently joined San Jose Fit. Its a running training program where u pay a fee and they train you for an endurance race. Her and her husband both joined and decided to go all the way and train for a marathon. They run as a group every saturday . She told me that the marathon is not her ultimate goal and that her ultimate goal is to just get healthy and lose some weight. She texts me weekly after her saturday runs to tell me how far she ran and how long it took her. I love getting these texts because I love her and I love that like me, she came to a point where she decided she wanted to get healthy. She has two kids, so i know it cant be easy but I am so proud of her.

We have had conversations about her struggles with running and being a beginner and they bring me back to when i started. I have been in her shoes. I know what its like to not think you can do it, to feel like you are going to die a half mile into your 3 mile run. I know what its like to force yourself to try not to walk when you so desperately want to walk. I know what its like to feel like you are the slowest one out there and everyone is in better shape than you. I know how it all feels… but I know how it feels to complete three half marathons and countless 5ks and 10ks improving on your time with each run. I know what it feels like when you dont get your run in for the day… antsy, grouchy, tired etc. I know what it feels like to push yourself beyond the limits you ever thought you could do. IT FEELS AMAZING!! She will get there… just dont give up.

In regards to pushing limits.. i had my own moment this weekend when I ran the farthest distance I have EVER run. I have only run 13.1 miles up to this point.  On saturday I did the mermaid sirena 18. Yes thats 18 miles. The mermaid series is a female only empowering run. They had 5k, 10k half marathon and the sirena 18. I think this was one of the best races I have ever done.

408430_10151696211229673_1865636858_n

It was in fremont and started at 7:30 in the am. I got to the start line and asked a girl to take my picture. It turns out that her and another girl were also running the sirena 18 and had come on their own as well. One of them is even doing the same marathon next month that I am doing. Awesome.  I always enjoy meeting new running friends.  The three of us passed time by talking for a bit.

252428_10101077644598459_240103129_n

I started off strong and for the first 1o miles I ran about an 8:15 mile. I was feeling pretty good except for the fact that I forgot my headphones and I had no music to listen to. I got to mile 13 and 1:45 had passed. My last half marathon was 1:52 so i was happy i was ahead of my time. I still had 5 miles to go.

923028_10151696231329673_538496778_n

I hit 14 miles and thats when I also hit the mental wall. I kept thinking ” what was i thinking” and ” how am i going to be able to run 26 miles if i cant run 14.” I had to walk a lot more than i had hoped once i hit mile 14. I ran the first 13 without stopping and at 14 I let my brain talk my body into thinking I couldnt do it.

At mile 15 i kept thinking “OMG  I still have 3 miles left.” I didnt think I was going to make it. I had been running for over 2 hours and I could already tell I was dehydrated. I was going to walk the rest of the way and then I snapped myself out of it… ” its three miles.. you run that everyday. Three miles is nothing to you, dont think about the fact that you just ran 15 before this. Just run the 3,” and run it I did.  I finished the race in 2:41.

375110_10151696418634673_673062048_n

I had heard about runners “hitting the wall” but never experienced it until this race. It makes the race tougher but It makes it so much better when you finish the race in spite of your wall.

182201_10151696595099673_14511913_n

t-34 days til the Wipro SF marathon. Will I see any of you on the sidelines?

 

One Response to “18 miles and self reflecting”

  1. calirn4kids Says:

    As always, I couldn’t be more proud of you – in all that you do & in all that you are!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.